Magnet® Components

Text Size: [+] [-]

Magnet® Components

What is Magnet® recognition?

The ANCC's Magnet Recognition Program® is an honor that all five Inova hospitals either have earned or are striving to achieve.

Administered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), this program "provides a roadmap to nursing excellence, which benefits the whole of an organization. To nurses, Magnet Recognition means education and development through every career stage, which leads to greater autonomy at the bedside. To patients, it means the very best care, delivered by nurses who are supported to be the very best that they can be."

Magnet Recognition is not merely an award, or a badge of honor.
It is steadfast proof of a hard-earned commitment to excellence in health care,
with contented nurses at its heart.

- American Nurses Credentialing Center

What are Magnet components?

The Magnet components represent broad categories of nursing practice which are evaluated by the ANCC. In preparation for our hospitals' evaluations, Inova must rigorously compile evidence to demonstrate that we meet or exceed the standards required for Magnet status.

The four components are:



Inova nurse-Donate button