Medical Hospitalist Program

Text Size: [+] [-]

Medical Hospitalist Program

Hospitalists are physicians who have made a commitment to devote their practice to the care of hospitalized patients. Our hospitalists are all board certified in internal medicine and have distinguished themselves as excellent physicians and clinical teachers.

Watch a brief video on the physicians, including hospitalists, who will care for you during an inpatient stay at Inova Fairfax Hospital.

Physician and Staff Recognition

Dr. Mannan and DOMMembers of IFMC’s Administrative Council (AC) recognize Inova Promise honorees, seated L-R: Zobair Younossi, MD, MPH, Chair, Dept. of Medicine; Sameh Elgawly, MD, Associate Medical Director, Hospitalist Division, Inova Fairfax Hospital; Ashiq Mannan, MD, Medical Director, Hospitalist Division, Patient Experience, Inova Fairfax Hospital, Dept. of Medicine; Marina Ocasio, RN, Clinical Director, PCCU; and Chapy Venkatesan, MD, Vice Chair, Dept. of Medicine

Dr. Ashiq Mannan, Medical Director, Hospitalist Division/Patient Experience at Inova Fairfax Hospital, was recently recognized for his collaboration with PCCU nursing in coaching his physician partners on effective TRIO Rounds.

Excerpts from his nomination letter, written by PCCU Clinical Director Marina Ocasio, are included below:

“Imagine that - having a team approach to providing feedback in a collaborative and constructive way! It is clear that Ashiq has great leadership qualities that have earned him tremendous respect from his team. Having in the moment feedback and recognition while they were going about their day was clearly appreciated by the doctors that took part in these observations. The nurses were also equally impressed that they were not the primary focus, and that we are invested in providing feedback to others on the team as well. When we take the time to collaborate and invest time in building and mentoring our teams it pays dividends in reaching our goals and building relationships.”

Medical Director of the Hospitalist Division

Dr. Ashiq Mannan is the Medical Director of the Hospitalist Division at Inova Fairfax Hospital Department of Medicine. He also serves as the medical director of Patient Experience for the department. Dr. Mannan graduated from Eastern Virginia Medical School in 2002 and completed his residency at Georgetown University Hospital in 2005. He then practiced as a hospitalist in the Philadelphia area, while his wife completed her allergy fellowship, before coming to Inova Fairfax Hospital in 2008. He currently holds clinical faculty positions with the George Washington University and Virginia Commonwealth University. Dr. Mannan has been the editor of the Department of Medicine quarterly newsletter for the past two years and also serves as a physician advisor for case management.

Medical Hospitalist Division Leadership

(In alphabetical order)

Dr. Sameh Elgawly is an Associate Medical Director with the Hospitalist Division at Inova Fairfax Hospital. Dr. Elgawly received his medical degree from Georgetown University School of Medicine in 2004 and completed his residency in internal medicine at Georgetown University Hospital in 2007. In his role as associate director, he is responsible for directing the ED hospitalist program, staff scheduling, and is the chair for the Internal Governance Committee.

Dr. Anne Summers, MD, FACC, is the Associate Chief Medical Officer at Inova Fairfax Medical Campus. She also serves as the Medical Director of cardiac hospitalists of the Hospitalist Division and leads that program with the goal of an integrative, protocol-driven, collaborative team approach to patient care at Inova Heart and Vascular Institute, involving a collaborative team of hospitalists, cardiologists, electrophysiologists, cardiac/vascular surgeons, administrators, nurses, case managers, social workers and ancillary services to improve quality, value and patient experience.

She was the longest practicing female cardiologist in Northern Virginia as a partner in Cardiac Care Associates from 1985 to her retirement in 2011. Since then, she has enjoyed practicing part time as a hospitalist, originally with a successful private hospitalist group, and joined the Inova Medical Group hospitalist team in June 2013.

Dr. Paul Weisbruch, MD, MBA, is an Associate Medical Director with the Hospitalist Division. He also serves as Director of Strategic Initiatives for the Department of Medicine, which includes oversight of physician documentation and the department’s at-risk compensation plan. Dr. Weisbruch received his MD degree from Georgetown University School of Medicine in 2010 and completed his residency in internal medicine at Georgetown University Hospital in 2013. He also completed an MBA in healthcare management and finance from Johns Hopkins University Carey Business School. Dr. Weisbruch holds clinical faculty positions with George Washington University and Virginia Commonwealth University. He also practiced at Inova Mount Vernon Hospital, where he helped launch their hospitalist division in 2013.

Medical Hospitalist Division Staff

(In alphabetical order)

Dr. Wali Azizi (above) is Tower 10 Medical Director.

Dr. Saquib Chaudhri (above) is PCCU Co-Medical Director.

Dr. Kate Gibson (above) is APU Co-Medical Director.

Dr. Shabnam Lankarani (above) is CTUS Co-Medical Director.

Dr. Shari Maletsky-Smith (above) is Observation Unit Medical Director.

Dr. Mary Jane Reyes (above) is APP Director & Hospitalist Executive Committee Chair.

Dr. Krupal Shah (above) is CTUN Co-Medical Director.

Dr. John Paul Verderese (above) is Section Chief of Internal Medicine for the Department of Medicine
and Director for Home Health and Transitional Care.

Dr. Homan Wai (above) is Student Clerkship Director.

Dr. Chad Zik (above) is Director, Simplicity Health.

Medical Hospitalist Division Advanced Practice Providers

Yaa Serwaah, NP, Chief APPYaa Serwaah, NP, Chief APP


Sarah Bannon, PASarah Bannon, PA


Jerimie Batac, NPJerimie Batac, NP


Nikki Cho, PANikki Cho, PA


Katie Cummings, PAKatie Cummings, PA


Dany Dalencourt, NPDany Dalencourt, NP


Rodeline Dalge, NPRodeline Dalge, NP


Elizabeth Healy, NPElizabeth Healy, NP


Margaret Holbrook, NPMargaret Holbrook, NP


Bonnie Wright, PABonnie Wright, PA